Hajj- Pilgrimage to Mecca

Hajj- Pilgrimage to Mecca, Hajj is the pilgrimage to Mecca, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, which is performed by the Muslims. This religious pilgrimage is annual. Hajj is the fifth pillar of Islam (Kalma Tayeba, prayer, fasting, zakaat being the first four, respectively). It is the religious obligation of every Muslim (who can afford to perform it both physically and economically) to perform Hajj at least once in his life time.

There are three types of Hajj, namely;

  1. Hajj Tamatto (it is performing Umrah first and then Hajj)
  2. Hajj Ifrad (it is performing of Hajj only)
  3. Hajj Qiran (it is performing Umrah and Hajj together).


Miqaat is the place where a person performing the Hajj should be in Ihram. The pilgrim, first makes the intention and then takes a bath. Then wear the Ihram and offer two rakat prayer. After wearing ihram, the pilgrim should recite aloud

لبيك اللهم لبيك لبيك لا شريك لك لبيك ان الحمد والنعمة لك والملك لا شريك لك


Talbiyah for Hajj Tamatto;
لبيك اللهم بى عمرة

Talbiyah for Hajj Qiran;
لبيك اللهم بى حجة و عمرة

Talbiyah for Hajj Ifrad;
لبيك اللهم حجة


Upon entering the Baitullah, do tawaaf and offer two rakat. Tawaaf is started after istilaam to Hijr-e-Aswad and before istilaam recite بسم الله الله اكبر . Tawaaf consists of 7 circlular moments around the Kaaba. In twaaf, any Quranic verses or masnun dua can be read but between the Rukn-e-yamani and Hijr-e-aswad recite

ربنا آتنا في الدنيا حسنة وفي الآخرة حسنة وقنا عذاب النار

After competing each tawaaf, reciting

واتخذوا من مقام إبراهيم مصلى

go towards Maqaam-e-Ibrahim. Offer two rakat (recite Surah Al Kafroon in the first rakat and Surah Al Ikhlas in the second -Tarmazi). Now, drink Zamzam water and put some on the head.


While climbing the mount Safa recite

فمن حج البيت اوعتمر فلا جناح عليه ان يطوف بهما و من تطوع خيرا فان الله شاكر عليم

and then recite

ابدء بما بدء الله.

On top of mount Safa turn to the Kaba and repeat three times

الله اكبر الله اكبر الله اكبر لا اله الا الله وحده لا شريك له له الملك له انجز وعده و نصر عبده و هزم احراب وحده.

In Hajj Tamatto, Saai must be offered in Umrah. While in the later two types, saai can be performed later. The person who is performing Hajj Tamatto, then shaves his head (for male)/ cutting an inch or two of hair (for female) and with this the Umrah is complete and now ihram can be exit.


On 8th of Dhul-hijja, a person performing Hajj Tamatto wears ihram and recites talbiya

لبيك اللهم حجة

then the pilgrim goes to Mina and offers zuhr, asar, maghrib, esha and fajar prayers there. Then starts the Arafat journey on 9th of Dhul-hijja.

Arafat and Muzdalfah:

The pilgrim goes to Arafat, does dua and dhikr till sunset. After sunset, the pilgrim goes to Muzdalfah and stays the night in Muzdalfah. Before the sunrise that is on 10th of Dhul-hijja, the pilgrim goes to mina and stoning of Jamarat is done. Then, the sacrifice of the animal is carried out.

Tawaaf-e-zyarat /farewell tawaaf:

After this, the pilgrim goes back to Mecca and performs Tawaaf and Saai for Hajj and then he goes to Mina. In these two days the pilgrim stones the Jamarat again and then can exit the Ihram completely.

The pilgrim should not leave Mecca before performing a farewell Tawaaf. The. In Madina, visiting the Prophet’s Mosque (Masjid-e- Nabvi S.A.W.W) is highly recommended.

Back to Home Page. Click

Related Article. Click

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *