The holy month of Calendar, Ramzan or Ramadan

The holy month of Calendar, Ramzan or Ramadan, Ramzan ul Mubaraik is the ninth month of Islamic calendar. There may be 29 or 30 days in this month. It is the month in which Muslims all around the world fast, as fasting is the third pillar of Islam. The Muslims eat before the Fajr azan and then fast all day long and then on the listening of Maghrib azan they break their fast and eat. In the Isha prayer 20 additional rakah are offered which is called Taraveh Nimaz.

This month is divided into 3 parts or stages called “Ashra”, Ashra is Arabic word with the meaning 10, thus each ashra contains 10 days.
First ashra is the ashra of Rehmat- mercy. Dua for this ashra is:

رَّبِّ اغْفِرْ وَ ارْحَمْ وَ اَنْتَ خَیْرُ الرّٰحِمِیْنَ۠

Second ashra is the ashra of Maghfirat- forgiveness. Dua for this ashra is:

اَسْتَغفِرُاللّٰہَ رَبِّیْ مِنْ کُلِ ذَنْبٍ وَّاَتُوْبُ اِلَیْہِ

Third ashra is the ashra of nijat- seeking refuge, refuge from hell fire. Dua for this ashra is:

اللَّهُمَّ أَجِرْنِي مِنَ النَّارِ

In this ashra there is possibility of the Laylat al-Qadar on the odd nights of the months that’s is 21st, 23rd, 25th, 27th or 29th. This is the night in which Allah revealed the Holy Quran to our beloved prophet Muhammad peace be upon him.

The importance of Ramzan is very high in Islam. It is not merely the name of remaining hungry for the whole day but instead it is for the remembering of other poor Muslim brothers in giving meals, charity and understanding their sufferance.

Here’s what a day of fasting during Ramadan is like:

  • Muslims have a predawn meal called the “Sehri”
  • Then, they fast all day until sunset.
  • At sunset, Muslims break their fast with a sip of water and some dates, the way they believe the Prophet Muhammad broke his fast more than a thousand years ago.
  • After sunset prayers, they gather at event halls, mosques or at home with family and friends in a large feast called “iftar.”
The Five Pillars of Islam
1. Shahadah:   Declaring your faith as a Muslim
2. Salat:             Praying five times each day
3. Sawm:           Fasting during Ramadan
4. Zakat:            Giving charity tax to benefit the poor, needy
5. Hajj:               Going on a pilgrimage to Mecca

Back to Home page. Click

Related articles. Click

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *