Platelets or the Thrombocytes

Platelets or the thrombocytes are also the components of blood. They are the fragments of cells called megakaryocytes which are present in the bone marrow. Whenever the fragmentation of megakaryocytes occurs and they enter the blood fragments are formed, these fragments are called platelets.

Function of Thrombocytes:

Liver in the presence of vitamin K produces a protein called prothrombin which converts into thrombin. This thrombin acts as enzyme and converts fibrinogin into fibrin. Fibrin is insoluble and forms thread like structures called clots, these clots stops the blood loss. Platelets entangled these thread like structures, thus making the bond further strong and so prevents the bleeding. If the platelets are absent fibrin alone is not enough to stop the bleeding from the wounds.

Blood clotting factors:

There are 13 blood clotting factors and even if one of them is absent or effected, the blood will not clot. These factors are the following.

Blood clotting factor 1; fibrinogin is the first factor of blood clotting.

Factor 2; prothrombin is the second blood clotting factor.

Factor 3; consists of thromboplastin.

Factor 4; calcium ions are the fourth factor.

Factor 5; factor 5 of blood clotting is called labile factor.

Factor 6; there is another factor but it hasn’t been assigned any name yet. Very little to non is known about it.

Factor 7; factor 7 of blood clotting is called the stable factor.

Factor 8; blood clotting factor 8 is antihaemophilic factor.

Factor 9; is called the christmas factor.

Factor 10; stuart factor is factor 10.

Factor 11; plasma thromboplastin antecedent act as factor 11 in blood clotting.

Factor 12; is called the hagamen factor.

Factor 13; blood clotting factor 13 is called fibrin stabilizing factor.

All these 13 factors work in coordination to form a blood clot.

Back to Home Page. Click

Articles related to Platelets or the Thrombocytes. Click

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *