What is Zakat in Religion Islam, Nisab of Zakat

What is Zakat in Religion Islam, Nisab of Zakat, The word zakat means to purify, zakat al mal means zakat on wealth. It is the fourth pillar of Islam. Zakat is the religious obligation of the Muslims who’s wealth surpasses the nisab. Nisab is the minimum amount of wealth above a person becomes obligatory to pay zakat. The amount of zakat is 2.5% on total wealth above the nisab.

Zakat can only be given to Muslims, that are poor needy, indebted, to free a Muslim from slavery or newly converted Muslims who can not afford their livings.

Zakat is the religious duty of all the eligible Muslims and is for the cleansing of wealth. It keeps the economic balance of the society and allows the money flow from the richer hand to the poorer. It is the obligation of all the Muslims and those who refuse to pay zakat without any justified reason are considered to be a form of kufar (unbelief) and can be executed by the law. Hazrat Abubakar (R.A) did jihad against such Muslims who denied to pay zakat.

In some Muslim countries like Pakistani, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Malaysia zakat is mandatory while in other Muslim countries like Iran, Kuwait, United Arab Emirates, Bangladesh, it is given voluntarily.

Zakat (Source: BBC.CO.UK Click )

Zakat is the compulsory giving of a set proportion of one’s wealth to charity. It is regarded as a type of worship and of self-purification. Zakat is the third Pillar of Islam.

Zakat does not refer to charitable gifts given out of kindness or generosity, but to the systematic giving of 2.5% of one’s wealth each year to benefit the poor.

The benefits of Zakat, apart from helping the poor, are as follows:

  • Obeying God
  • Helping a person acknowledge that everything comes from God on loan and that we do not really own anything ourselves
    • And since we cannot take anything with us when we die we need not cling to it
  • Acknowledging that whether we are rich or poor is God’s choice
    • So we should help those he has chosen to make poor
  • Learning self-discipline
  • Freeing oneself from the love of possessions and greed
  • Freeing oneself from the love of money
  • Freeing oneself from love of oneself
  • Behaving honestly

The 2.5% rate only applies to cash, gold and silver, and commercial items. There are other rates for farm and mining produce, and for animals.

Back to Home Page. Click

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *